Homeschooling has been an absolute blessing for many parents out there. Before you decide to homeschool your child, you must be aware of the laws of your state. The article is particularly dedicated to US residents so that they can find the laws of their state regarding homeschooling.
Homeschooling laws vary quite a lot across the USA. Even though it was legalized in 1993 throughout all 50 states, there are some basic requirements and some optional ones that should be made in order to be eligible for homeschooling your child.
Homeschooling is a rigorous process so before you proceed, make sure you have sufficient resources to provide the ultimate homeschooling experience to your child. Let’s take a look at the homeschool laws in all the 50 states so that you decide whether you’re eligible for it and the steps you should take to be one.
Homeschool Laws in all 50 States
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Alabama
Alabama law requires every child aged 6 to 17 years to attend school. If your child is already attending a public or private school but you want to start in the middle of a school year then you must withdraw your child from the school first. Alabama offers three options following which you can legally homeschool your child.
The option allows you to homeschool your child with a Church School. Church Schools offers education from Kindergarten to High School. The first step would be to enroll the child in a church school that accepts homeschooling students.
Once you’re done with the enrollment process, notify your local public school by filing a church school enrollment form. However, make sure you’re well aware of the school policies about homeschooling.
The second option is to homeschool the child with a private school. Private schools are required to report to the city superintendent the names and addresses of all the children enrolled in the school. They are also asked to keep an attendance register so if you decide to homeschool your child in Alabama with a private school then you must collect the enrollment and absence form.
The third option allows you to homeschool the child with Alabama-certified teachers. The medium of communication should be English and the child should be taught all subjects that are taught in public school. Also, the tutor must teach the child at least three hours a day within 8:00 a.m. to 4 p.m. for 140 days each calendar year.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Alaska
The homeschooling laws in Alaska are very simple and straightforward. The Law requires every child aged between 7 to 16 years to attend school. The laws for homeschooling in Alaska are quite flexible compared to many other states.
Homeschooling parents will be granted a fund that they can use for their children’s educational needs. The family can use this stipend for all sort of educational mater. If you choose to homeschool the child under the homeschool statute then there’s no need to notify the state, seek approval, file form or have any professional teaching degrees.
However, if you choose to homeschool with a private tutor then the tutor must be an Alaska-certified teacher. The student can also be homeschooled if there is an approval given by the school board as long as the child is provided with quality education. Alaskan children can also be homeschooled with religious private schools, however, the enrollment should be completed by the first day of each homeschool year.
You must keep homeschooling records such as the results of the tests, the outline of the curriculum the student was following, sample of the homework, attendance records, etc. However, in Alaska, there are no formal requirements for homeschoolers but the student must complete 22.5 credits to graduate.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Arizona
In the state of Arizona, all children aged 6 to 16 years must attend school. If you’re a resident of Arizona and you decide to homeschool your children then the first step would be to file a notarized affidavit of intent to homeschool. The affidavit should be submitted within 30-days of homeschooling.
The affidavit must contain certain information such as the name, date of birth, proof of birth and the current address of the child. It should also contain the name, telephone number, and address of the legal guardian. However, you don’t have to submit these documents every year. Submitting all the documents at the beginning of homeschooling will suffice for the entire length of homeschooling.
Even though the legal law of Arizona doesn’t have any specific rule but it’s always better to formally withdraw the studentship if they were admitted in a school prior to homeschooling. One of the best parts of homeschooling in Arizona is that the homeschooled children will have the opportunity to enroll in community college as early as age twelve
Arizona is quite flexible when it comes to homeschooling. You don’t need to submit any record of the homeschooling experience or curriculum. However, keeping a homeschool portfolio will help the children for their further education so it’s always better to keep a record to be on the safe side.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Arkansas
In the state of Arkansas, any child aged between 5 to 17 years is bound to attend school. Arkansas have very simple homeschooling schools and you’ll absolutely face no trouble if you decide to homeschool your child.
Once you’ve made the decision, submit a notice of intent to homeschool through email, by post or in person to the local school superintendent’s office within August 15 or every year or at least 14 days before withdrawing the student from school.
In Arkansas, you don’t have to follow any specific curriculum for homeschooling. You can design the curriculum according to your preference and also schedule the tutoring hours accordingly. This feature enables the children to work out their own pace of learning and work accordingly.
The homeschooling students in Arkansas are not required to sit for any standardized test that many other states require. However, the parents can arrange for tests to monitor the progress the child has made over the year. Make sure that you keep enough records on the works of the student which will come in handy when they apply for higher education.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in California
Well, there’s no doubt that getting a quality education is quite expensive. It’s one of the many reasons that parents nowadays are more inclined towards homeschooling because it’s free and they’ll also receive a handsome stipend to carry out the cost of the study materials. In California, a child must join school or be homeschooled once he/she turns 6.
California offers three legal ways following which you can homeschool your child. You are allowed to start homeschooling as a home-based private school. Before you proceed with it, you must file a form with California Superintendent of Public Instruction between October 1 and October 15 of every school year.
The children can also be homeschooled with private school satellite programs (PSP). These programs provide a majority of the instructions and lessons at home. However, the PSP must meet all the requirements necessary for operating a private school.
You can also go for a private tutor for teaching the children. The tutor should be California-certified the medium of instruction for homeschooling must be English. The tutor must teach all the curriculums that are taught in public schools. The lessons should go for at least three hours each day for 175 days each calendar year between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Colorado
In Colorado, children aged between 6 to years old must be enrolled in a school. Colorado offers three options for homeschooling parents following which they’ll be able to legally homeschool the children.
The first option enables the parent to homeschool the child under Colorado’s homeschooling statute. Under this statute, you’ll need to clearly notify that who’ll be guiding the child. The guardian is required to file a notice of intent with any school district in the state at least 14 days prior to the start of the homeschooling program.
The student should be provided with 172 days of instruction with an average of at least four hours a day. The curriculum must contain the following subjects: the United States Constitution, reading, writing, speaking, math, history, civics, literature, and science. Colorado homeschooling laws also require the parents to keep the test and attendance records of the child.
Colorado law also allows the children to be homeschooled under “independent school”. Here, two or more homeschooling families can establish their own schools by keeping a few records. However, the independent school should follow the subjects that are required by the homeschooling laws of Colorado.
The children can also be homeschooled under the supervision of a Colorado-certified teacher. If any of the parents then the children can be homeschooled under them.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Connecticut
Under Connecticut compulsory education law, all children aged under 5 to 17 years must attend school. Parents who are willing to homeschool their children are required to follow some guidelines.
Once you decide to proceed with homeschooling, within 10 days of starting the homeschool program you must file a notice of intent. The notice should be filed for every year for as long the homeschooling program goes on. The notice must contain the name of the tutors, the curriculum that will be followed, and the teacher’s method of assessment.
The guardian will immediately have the authority to homeschool their children as soon as they lodge the file. You’ll not have to wait for any approval from the school district. However, the school authority may ask you to attend the annual meeting to determine whether proper curriculums are followed.
The Connecticut law states that the children have to be ensured reading, writing, spelling, English grammar, geography, arithmetic, and United States history and citizenship, along with the study of federal, state, and local government.
The parents should also keep records of the textbooks and workbooks or any other document used by the student as a proof whether the child is receiving an appropriate education in compliance with the law.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Delaware
Delaware’s education law requires every child aged between 5 to 16 years old to attend school. Delaware offers three different options to homeschooling parents. Homeschooling is quite flexible in Delaware compared to other states as there’s no teacher qualification or standardized testing requirements for these options.
The first option allows conducting homeschooling as a single-family homeschool. Here, children are primarily tutored by their parent or legal guardian in their homes. However, the homeschool must submit a statement of pupil enrollment annually by 5th October.
The report must be submitted to the Department of Education on a form that is prescribed by the Department of Education. The homeschool also keeps a record of attendance which must be submitted every year by July 31.
The law also allows the children to be homeschooled as a multi-family homeschool. Here, children from two or more families are educated by their parents or guardians. The law requires one person to act as a liaison who’ll be responsible for submitting the attendance and enrollment information to the Department of Education.
The last option allows for homeschooling as a single-family coordinated with the local district. To become coordinated with the school district you must ask the school superintendent in a written document stating that your child will be provided with regular and thorough instructions.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Florida
According to the laws of Florida, Children should be admitted to the school as soon as they turn 6 and remain in school till they are 16 years old. Florida homeschool law offers three options to the homeschooling parents.
Children can be homeschooled under the homeschool statute. You must submit a file with the intent to home education program within 30-days after starting the homeschooling program. The notice should be filed annually and it should include the full legal names, date of birth and address of the homeschool students.
The parents are required to keep a portfolio throughout the year which must contain the educational activities along with the reading materials, a sample of worksheets, workbooks, etc. by the student. The progress of the student will be evaluated by a Florida-certified teacher annually and the student must take any nationally normed student achievement test by a certified teacher.
The second option allows the students to be homeschooled under a private school umbrella program. The student can be enrolled in a private school that is registered with the Florida Department of Education and they’ll look after the homeschooling program.
Lastly, you can also homeschool with a private tutor. The instructor must have a Florida certificate to teach the subjects or grades which the pupil is in.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Georgia
In Georgia, it’s compulsory for children aged 6 to 16 years old to attend school. Homeschooling is referred to as “home study programs” under Georgia laws. You can only file the declaration of intent if you’re the parent or legal guardian of the child. The teaching parent or the tutor must have a High School Diploma or GED in order to be eligible to tutor the children.
The declaration of intent must be submitted within 30-days after starting the home study program. It should be annually submitted to the Georgia Department of Education by September 1 of every homeschooling year.
The declaration of intent form must contain the name, age, and location of the home study program. The student should be provided with 180-days of education in each school year with at least four hours each day.
The tutor must teach the basic subjects that are taught in the public schools for the grade the student is in. The educational program shouldn’t be limited to only reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. At the end of every school year, the must write a progress report for the child, however, it need not be submitted to the public school officials.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Hawaii
Hawaii is quite a homeschool-friendly state and it doesn’t have rigid homeschool laws like many other states. The child must enroll in school as soon he or she reaches the age of 5 and continue with the schooling till they reach the age of 18.
Hawaii law refers to homeschooling as Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 302A-1132(a)(5). Under this statute, you must submit a notice of intent before you begin homeschooling. The notice of intent should be given to the principle of the public school your child or ward would have attended otherwise. The notice should contain the name, address, date of birth, grade level of the child, and the parent’s signatures.
There are no specific requirements for subjects to be taught, however, the curriculum must be structured and based on educational objectives. Hawaii’s homeschooling law requires a record of the planned curriculum.
You must keep the record of the commencement date and the ending date of the homeschooling program, the number of hours taught, the subject covered along with the list of textbooks and materials, and the methods used to determine the mastery of subjects and materials in the curriculum.
Hawaii law also enables the parents to conduct the homeschool program under Hawaii Rev. Stat. § 302A-1132(a)(5).
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Idaho
Idaho education law requires children to start schooling from the age of 7 until they become 16 years old. There is no graduation exception according to Idaho homeschool law, the student is still subject to school attendance even if he or she graduates from the homeschool program before 16th birthday.
Idaho homeschool law is very simple without much bindings and regulations unlike many other states with rigid regulations. The homeschooling parent need not have any particular qualification or get any district approval. If the school district asks for any information about the homeschooling program, the parents aren’t legally bounded by the law to answer that.
Under Idaho homeschool law, the parents or guardian can teach their children or have any other family member or relative to tutor the student. There are no legal requirements but you ought to teach the subject that is commonly taught in the public schools in Idaho.
Idaho homeschool students have the flexibility of dual-enrolling themselves both in the homeschool as well as some specified public school classes, sports, bands, and other extra-curriculum activities.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Illinois
Under the education law of Illinois, children should start schooling as soon as they reach the age of 6 and continue it till they turn 17. In Illinois, homeschool is considered a private school. However, you don’t need to register the home-based private school with the Illinois Board of Education.
Illinois homeschool law requires you to follow a specific curriculum for your children. You are needed to provide an adequate course of instruction by including subjects such as Language Arts, Mathematics, Biological, and Physical Science, Social Science, Fine arts and Physical development and health. However, you can include other subjects as well after covering these.
Also, the medium of instruction should be in English. If you prefer to appoint a tutor for your homeschooling children, make sure the instructions are given in English.
The homeschool law of Illinois doesn’t require the homeschoolers to submit any form of records. However, keeping a portfolio record will be beneficial for the future. The portfolio should include the standardized tests the homeschooler took during the homeschooling period, an overview of the curriculum, materials, worksheets, and assignments completed by the student, and a general progress report for the entire homeschooling period.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Indiana
According to the laws of Indiana, a child must be enrolled in school at the beginning of fall of the year he or she becomes 7 years old and continue with the studies till they become 18 or graduate. However, if the child wants to exit the after becoming 16, he or she can do that after having an interview along with his or her parents with the local public school principal.
Indiana’s homeschool laws are pretty straight forward. Homeschools in Indiana are considered as non-accredited private schools, therefore, the homeschool has to comply with Indiana’s private school statute.
According to Indiana homeschool law, the instruction provided to students must be delivered in English. There’s no definite requirement for the curriculums to follow but the subject included in the curriculum should be equivalent to the ones taught in private schools. Along with general subjects, the parents may choose other courses as well to enhance the knowledge of the child.
The homeschool program should go on for the same number of days as the public schools in Indiana, which is usually 180 days. The parents are also required to keep proper attendance and enrollment record. The record must be available if the state superintendent or the superintendent of the school district asks for it.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Iowa
Under Iowa law, it’s compulsory for every child to attend school from the age of 6 years till he or she becomes 16 years old. There are five homeschooling options in Iowa following which you’ll be legally able to homeschool your child.
The first option enables you to provide the child with Independent Private Instruction (IPI). Here, you must instruct the children with the following subjects: reading and language arts, math, science, and social studies.
You’ll not have to file any form to the school district, however, if the Iowa Department of Education asks you to then you’ll have to send a written letter of intent. Also, the IPI homeschoolers are allowed to participate in free testing through the public school.
The second option is to homeschool by Private Instruction (PI). Under this format, you’ll have to provide the student with a planned course of study and the homeschooling period should go for 148 days each year and 37 days per school quarter. Like IPI, the students will have some public school programs.
The third option allows you to homeschool with a supervising teacher. To continue with this process, you must submit a file with the name of the child, age, date of birth, number of days to be taught, textbooks used, and an overall outline of the study plan.
You’ll also have to provide the instructor’s name and address. The instructor must be licensed for the grade to be taught and he/she must teach the student at least twice every week. However, the parent will also be eligible for the role if the parent has an appropriate license to teach.
The fourth option is to homeschool with the Annual Assessment. Here, you’ll have to submit files with similar information as discussed above. Here, you must submit an assessment report to the school district annually. The assessments can be provided in the form of a report card, review by a teacher or as a standardized test.
The fifth option is to homeschool with Homeschool Assistance Program (HSAP). You’ll need to fill up a form by September 1 each year with the name and address of the instructor. Bear in mind the in HSAP program, public schools can impose additional requirements such as a standardized test.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Kansas
According to Kansas school laws, children must begin their schooling at the age of 7 years until they become 18 years old. In Kansas, homeschools are treated as private schools. Kansas offers two options for homeschooling parents.
Homeschooling can be done as a non-accredited private school. To proceed with this you must choose a name and address for the school and register it with the State Board of Education. There are no certain eligibility requirements for the instructor, however, the instructor, which can also be the parent, must be competent enough to teach the child.
Each homeschool year consists of the same number of days as the public school. The homeschooler should be instructed for about 186 days each year. According to Kansas homeschool law, there is no certain requirement for the curriculum to be followed, however, you should include the following subjects: reading, writing, spelling, English grammar and composition, geography, arithmetic, civil government, health, hygiene, and United States and Kansas history.
The law states that the instructions should be scheduled and planned. The students should also sit for standardized test periodically to evaluate their learnings.
In Kansas, homeschooling can also be conducted as a satellite of a private school. The families operating their homeschool as a satellite of a private school are accountable to any local private school board where they need to follow the compulsory attendance laws.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Kentucky
According to the laws of Kentucky, children must get admitted to the school as soon as they turn 6 and continue with the school until they’re 18 years old, if not graduated already. There’s no homeschool statute in Kentucky and homeschooling is operated under the private school statute.
To proceed with homeschooling, you must annually notify within the first two weeks of the school year to the local board of education with the private school notice of attendance. The notice should include the names and ages of the students you have in the school along with their addresses.
The parents must keep an attendance record and report card in a similar manner as a public school. The reports should be updated every six to nine weeks depending on the schedule the district complies with.
The student must be provided with at least 1062 hours of instruction and it should be covered within 170 days. The parents should ensure that the instructions are provided in a fairly consistent way.
The homeschool law doesn’t require the parents to teach any specific subject but the curriculum should include reading, writing, spelling, grammar, mathematics, science, history and civics. Make sure all the instructions are provided in the English language.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Louisiana
Louisiana law states that children aged from 7 to 18 years old must attend a school or be homeschooled. There are two options following which the parents can homeschool their children.
The first option is to do homeschooling as a home study program. The parents must apply to the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education for approval. The application of intent must be lodged within 15 days of the beginning of homeschooling and the application must be renewed annually. Along with the application, you must include the child’s original birth certificate.
The homeschooling must include curriculum which is equivalent to what’s taught in Public schools for the same grade level. The curriculum should include the Declaration of Independence in elementary school and The Federalist Papers in high school. At the end of 10th grade, the students will be eligible for Louisiana Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) award based on their ACT scores.
According to the homeschool law of Louisiana, the parents should provide evidence of immunization to the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education for meningococcal disease as soon as the child becomes 11 years old unless there’s a waiver for personal, religious or medical reasons.
If you choose to conduct homeschooling as a home-based private school then you must submit a written enrollment notification to the previous public school that your child attended before beginning the homeschooling. Bear in mind, under this criteria,the child will not be eligible for the TOPS award.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Maine
According to Maine law, a child should attend school as soon as they turn 7 and comply with the law until he or she reaches the age of 17. Maine offers two options to legally homeschool your child. You can homeschool under Maine’s home instruction option. For that, you must submit a one-time written notice to the school superintendent and to the state commissioner of education.
The notice must include the name, age, address, and signature of the parent or legal guardian. It should also include the date the home instruction began. It should include a statement that the student will be provided with 175 days of instruction a year along with the subjects that will be covered also a statement that you’ll submit annual assessments of the student.
The Maine homeschool law states that the student must cover the following subjects: English and language arts, fine arts, library skills, physical and health education, math, science, social studies, computer proficiency, and Maine studies.
The second option allows being homeschooled as a student of a private school. The Maine law allows several homeschooling parents to join together and operate as a private school. The requirement for the recognition is the school must instruct the following subjects: math, English, science, health education, fine arts, Maine history and geography, American history and responsibility of citizenship.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Maryland
In Maryland, school attendance is compulsory when the child turns 5 years and it should continue till they become 18 years old. Maryland offers three options to legally homeschool the child.
You can go for homeschooling under the portfolio option but before that, you must file a Notice of Consent from the superintendent. The parents must provide instructions for the following subjects: math, science, English, social studies, art, music, health, and physical education. You should also maintain a portfolio that includes the worksheets and materials covered by the child so that the local superintendent can review the portfolio.
The second option allows you to homeschool under the church umbrella option. Here, the educational program is operated by a bona fide church organization. You need to join any church umbrella before submitting the Notice of Consent.
Most church umbrella programs are paid, in return, they’ll supervise and support for the home instructions to the members. The church umbrella must supervise the textbook and lesson plan review, an annual visit to the instruction site and a pre-enrollment conference.
The last option allows the children to be homeschooled with a state-approved school umbrella option. To continue with this option, the parents must submit a Notice of Consent form with the superintendent and the involvement in the umbrella program must be verified annually.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Massachusetts
Massachusetts state law implies that children must attend a school or be homeschool as they turn 6 and continue with the process until they become 16. To homeschool your child legally in Massachusetts, you must submit the Notice of Intent annually.
According to the state law, there are four factors that should be monitored by the superintendent or the school committee: the curriculum followed and the hours of lessons provided, the textbooks and other instructional materials used, the competency of the parents (they are not required to have a college degree) and the methods used to assess the student.
Massachusetts law requires the homeschoolers to follow a specific set of subjects to follow. The students must be instructed with reading, writing, spelling, English language and grammar, drawing, music, math, science, geography, duties of citizenship, United States History, good behavior, and physical education.
A superintendent or school committee may require the student to sit for standardized tests to evaluate the progress level of the student. There’s no certain law regarding recordkeeping, however, oftentimes certain assessments require previous records and work samples of the student.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Michigan
Under Michigan state law, all children aged between 6 to 18 years must comply with the homeschool law. Parents can choose to homeschool under the homeschool statute or as a nonpublic school.
Parents are not required to notify the local government or educational authorities about the homeschooling program. However, the Michigan homeschool statute requires to follow an organized educational program covering subjects such as reading, spelling, mathematics, history, science, civics, literature and English grammar.
The parents can also choose to homeschool as a nonpublic school. Following this criterion, the parents must ensure the instructor is competent and qualified enough to teach the student. Whoever the instructor is, he or she must have a teaching certificate, teaching permit or a bachelor’s degree.
At the start of every school year, the parents need to submit a form with information about the name and age of the child, the number or name of the school district, the name of the parents and the name and age of any child enrolled in the school who don’t have regular attendance.
Children who’re being homeschooled under nonpublic school must be taught reading, writing, English, math, and science. In High School, the student should also be taught U.S. constitution, Michigan Constitution, and the history and present form of civil government and Michigan political subdivision as well as municipalities.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Minnesota
In Minnesota, all children aged between 7 to 17 years old must attend a school or be homeschooled unless they have graduated. To legally homeschool your child in Minnesota, the parents must ensure that the person responsible to teach the students is qualified enough. You must notify the superintendent of your district that you’ll be homeschooling your child.
The parents will be automatically qualified if they are instructing their children. However, if someone else is performing the task then he or she must hold Minnesota teaching license in the grade taught and they have successfully completed their teacher competency exam. The teacher should have a baccalaureate degree and also provide instruction in a school that is accredited or authorized by the state board.
Minnesota homeschool law doesn’t specify the exact curriculum that should be followed. However, the lessons must contain English, math, science, economics, history, geography, citizenship, health and physical education.
The Minnesota law requires a portfolio containing the record of the subjects taught including proper documentation of class schedules, worksheets, and materials used for the courses and the assessment methods used to evaluate the student’s performance. The student should be evaluated annually following a standardized achievement test.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Mississippi
Mississippi law states the student must attend school as soon they become 6 years old and continue with the process until they become 17 years old. Mississippi homeschool law is quite flexible and the parents don’t need to go through any rigorous process.
The parents must submit a certificate of enrollment including the name of the parents and child, address, phone number, date of birth of the child and a brief description of the type of education the child will be receiving. You can begin homeschool at any time of the year but you must submit the certificate as soon as you begin homeschooling. Bear in mind that the certificate must be submitted by the parent or the legal guardian of the child.
In Mississippi, there are certain requirements for the subjects to be taught, the parents can choose themselves the curriculum according to their preference. There is also no certain time limit for the program, however, the public schools generally operate for 180-days per school year.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Missouri
In Missouri, the child must start schooling as they become 7 years old and continue with schooling until they become 17 years old. Under Missouri homeschool law, a homeschool is an institution which provides private or religious-based instruction. The age of the pupil must age between 7 years to 16 years old.
In one institution no more than four kids related can be enrolled. Also, the homeschool mustn’t charge any fees or remuneration. The parents should ensure that the child is receiving at least 1000 hours of instruction every school term. The core curriculum followed should include reading, English, language arts, social studies, and science.
Under Missouri homeschooling law, the parents aren’t required to submit any kind record to the authority. However, you must keep a log indicating all the subjects taught, the number of hours taught, etc. You should also keep the course work of the child and some academic standardized evaluation evidence. If the child is in elementary or middle school, always keep at least one year of records handy.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Montana
According to Montana education law, children should attend school from the age of 7 until they become 16 years old. To legally homeschool your child in Montana, you must notify the school superintendent of the schools of the county every school year.
The parents must keep the record for attendance. Along with attendance, the parents must keep a record of the child’s disease immunization. These records must be available readily if the superintendent asks for it. Make sure your home complies with all the local health and safety regulations
The student must receive at least 720 hours of instruction for grades 1-3. For grades 4-12, the student must receive instruction for 1080 hours every fiscal school year. The school must provide an organized course of study that should include the following subjects: math, English language, social studies, science, arts, health, and career education.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Nebraska
All children aged 6 years to 18 years must attend a school or be homeschooled. According to Nebraska law, a homeschool is considered as a private school that is not required to meet religious or non-religious accreditation. Your school should also comply with the vaccinations laws of Nebraska.
If you want to legally homeschool your child in Nebraska, you must file a parent or guardian file annually. Both parents must sign and file notarized parents of guardian form. However, both the parents are unable to sign the form then one must contact the Department of Education and ask them for further assistance. During the first year of homeschooling, you must send a certified copy of the child’s birth certificate.
The parents will also have to file a Parent Representative form to confirm their responsibilities. The responsibilities include the information on student enrollment, monitoring the course of studies, the curriculum of instruction and attendance.
Nebraska homeschooling law doesn’t have any specific requirements on the subjects to be covered. However, the Parents Guardian Form should include that the student will be provided with math, science, language art, social studies and any other courses that may be required to enhance the knowledge of your child.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Nevada
Nevada law requires children to get admitted to the school when they become 7 and continue with the education till they’re 18 or graduate. Nevada is one of the most home-school friendly states and they have very simple rules and regulations.
Before beginning with homeschool, the parents or guardian must file a notice of intent with the superintendent of your local school district. The notice must be lodged beforehand or within 10 days of starting the homeschool program. You don’t need to submit the form annually unless you change your name or address since the day of lodging the file.
The Nevada Department of Education will provide you a standard form for the notice of intent and the notice must include the full name, age, and gender of the child, your address and name, a written statement that you have control and charge of your child and the legal right to direct his or her education, an overall educational plan which states that the child will be following a proper curriculum and name of the school the child attends beforehand if there’s any.
Nevada homeschooling law requires a curriculum to be followed which consists of English, writing, reading, science, math, social studies, history, geography, and government.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in New Hampshire
The New Hampshire law requires all children to attend school from the age of 6 years to 18 years unless they graduate. The New Hampshire law states that it’s the fundamental right of the parents to homeschool their children.
If you want to conduct homeschooling legally in New Hampshire then you must file a notice with the participating agency within five days of starting the homeschooling program or if you’re moving to a new school district and changing participating agencies. Make sure the notice includes the name, address, and date of birth of the child being homeschooled.
According to New Hampshire homeschooling law, the program must include math, science, language, reading, writing, spelling, history and the history of the constitution of New Hampshire and the United States.
The law of New Hampshire requires to keep a record portfolio that consists the material covered in the program, textbook and reading samples used, worksheets, workbooks or any other assessment material that can be used to evaluate the student.
Parents or legal guardians are required by the law to annually.A written evaluation should be conducted in the presence of a certified teacher or a current nonpublic school teacher. The evaluation records aren’t required to be sent to the participating agency, the results should be kept by the parents to demonstrate the student’s academic progress.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in New Jersey
According to New Jersey law, it’s compulsory for children to start schooling as soon as they become 6 years and continue until they reach their 16th birthday. When it comes about homeschooling, New Jersey is one of the most flexible states.
The homeschooling law of New Jersey states that you must provide your child with education which is similar to what the child would have received from a school. Homeschooling teachers in New Jersey aren’t legally required to provide attendance and progress report, formal notification to the state department or a report on the curriculum followed.
However, even the parents are not abided by the law to follow any curriculum but the parents should provide instructions that consist of math, science, world history, civics or U.S. and New Jersey history, language arts, technical literacy, and any other instruction to enhance the proficiency of the child.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in New Mexico
In New Mexico, all children must attend a school or be homeschooled as they become 5 years old and continue until they become 18 or graduate from high school. To legally conduct homeschooling in New Mexico, the parents must submit a Notice of Intent to the New Mexico Public Education Department. The notice should be provided within 30 days of homeschooling and annually afterward.
Regardless of who teaches the child, be it the parents or teacher, the person must have a high school diploma or GED degree. The child should be instructed for the same number of days as of any public school in New Mexico, which is 180-days each fiscal school year.
The instructions should include the following subjects: math, social studies, reading, language art,and science. The parents should keep proper attendance record to show that the child is in compliance with 180-days attendance requirement. They should also keep a record of the student’s disease immunization.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in New York
According to the laws of New York, children must start attending school when they turn 6 years old and continue till they turn 16, if not graduated already from high school. To begin with legal homeschool program in New York, the parents or legal guardian must submit a notice of intent to the district superintended by July 1 and annually thereafter.
The parents are also required to submit an Individualized Home Instruction Plan (IHIP). The IHIP needs to be submitted by 15th August each year or within four weeks after receiving the form from the school district.
In the IHIP, you must include the name, age, and grade level of the child, the curriculum and the syllabus to be followed, textbooks and materials, an overall plan for the program, the date of submitting the quarterly reports and the name of the person who’ll be instructing the child.
The New York homeschool law states that the student must attend the program for at least 180-days per school year. However, the attendance report only needs to be submitted to the school district only if requested by the superintendent.
The students are also expected to meet hourly requirements as well. Students from grade 1-6 are supposed to complete 900 hours of school per year and the student from grade 7-12 are supposed to complete 990 hours of school per year.
The instruction provided to the students should contain English, reading, spelling, geography, arithmetic, science, health, music, physical education and U.S. history and constitution at least once before reaching grade 9.
There should be a quarterly report submitted to the district superintendent each quarter and the evaluation record should include the number of hours instructed each quarter, materials covered and the grade received for each subject. Also, the child needs to be assessed annually through a standardized test or written narrative evaluation.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in North Carolina
Every child must attend school from the age of 7 till they turn 16 years old. In North Carolina, you have two options following which you can homeschool your child legally. You can either choose to homeschool as a qualified public school or as a private religious school or school of the religious charter.
To begin with the procedure, you must submit a notice of intent to the North Carolina Division of Non-Public Education. The notice should include the name and address of the homeschool along with the name of the homeschool owner and the chief administrator.
The instructor of the homeschool must have a high school diploma and the program should go on for at least nine months for each year except for necessary holidays and vacations.
Even though it’s not mandatory by the law but keep a proper portfolio with the records of attendance and immunization. You must assess your child at least once every year through a national standardized test to evaluate their proficiency and skills.
You must close the homeschool when your child is done with the program or if you move out of North Carolina.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in North Dakota
In North Dakota, it’s compulsory for children aged between 7 years to 16 years to attend school. There are two options available for the parents in North Dakota to provide a homeschool program legally. You can either choose to homeschool following the home education law or you can conduct the program under private school option if you’re a state-certified teacher.
You must file a notice of intent to homeschool at least 14-days prior to homeschooling and it should be done once annually afterward. The notice should contain the name and address, date of birth, and the grade level of the child. It should also include the name and address of the parent who’ll supervise the child.
To begin homeschooling under the homeschool program, you must be the parent of the child and you must have a high school diploma or its equivalent. However, if you don’t meet the requirements then you can supervise the child only if you’re monitored by a North Dakota-certified teacher.
According to North Dakota law, the curriculum of the homeschool should include all the subject that is taught in public school for the grade level of the homeschooler. The parent must keep proper records of subjects and materials covered by the student along with the report of standardized test scores.
In grade 4, 6, 8, and 10, the student must sit for standardized achievement test used by the local school district or any nationally recognized standardized test.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Ohio
Children in Ohio must attend a school or comply with homeschool law as soon as they turn 6 years old and continue till they become 18 or graduate from high school. Parents in Ohio can legally homeschool their children following Ohio’s homeschool statute or as a non-chartered non-tax supported school.
To homeschool following Ohio’s homeschool statute, the parents must submit an annual notice of intent to the local school district superintendent. The notice should include the school year for which the notification is made, name and date of birth of the child, name, and address of the parent and the name and address of the instructor if it’s anyone other than the parent.
Parents or the instructor must have a high school diploma or its equivalent. The instruction should include reading, spelling, language, geography, math, science, physical education, fine arts, history of U.S. and Ohio, first aid, safety, and fire prevention.
Homeschoolers in Ohio need to submit an annual assessment report to the local school superintendent to assess their child’s progress. The parents may maintain a portfolio consisting of the materials and overall outline of the curriculum along with the results of the standardized test the student took.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Oklahoma
According to the laws of Oklahoma, it’s compulsory for all children aged between 5 years to 18 years to attend a school or comply with homeschool laws. Oklahoma is one of the most homeschool-friendly states in the U.S.
Oklahoma has no certain requirements for conducting homeschooling. The parents don’t need to notify the state or the local officials about their homeschooling program. In Oklahoma, you can operate the homeschool following your own guidelines as long as you provide instructions to the student for 180-days a fiscal school year.
Also, there are no statute regarding the subjects to be taught or the curriculum to be followed. However, the Oklahoma court suggests that the homeschool curriculum should be similar to the curriculums of the public schools.
To comply with this notice, make sure the instructions include math, science, language, and social studies. Also, maintain a record log to assess the progress of the child.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Oregon
In Oregon, all the children from the age of 6 years to 18 years must attend a school or be homeschooled. If the parents want to legally homeschool their child in Oregonthey must submit a notice of intent to homeschool to the Education Service District.
The notice should contain the parent’s name, name, age, and date of birth of the homeschooling child. Make sure to include the name of any school your child attended before getting homeschooled.
According to the homeschooling laws of Oregon, the child must sit for standardized test by August 15, in grade 3,5,8 and 10. The test they sit for must be approved by the State Board of Education and the test should be conducted by a qualified person. If the child scores below 15th percentile then he or she must sit for an additional test within one year.
Even though there no certain laws for recordkeeping but you must keep the records of the tests the student took and the materials covered so that you can provide them if the Education Service District Superintendent asks for it.
However, if your child has any disabilities then the child must be evaluated for satisfactory educational progress in ways which is recommended by the child’s individualized education plan.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Pennsylvania
All children aged between 8 to 17 years old must attend a school or be homeschooled according to the laws of Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania offers multiple options for the parents to legally homeschool their child.
The parents can homeschool the child under the homeschool statute. They must file a notarized affidavit to the local superintendent before continuing with the process. The parents must have a high school diploma and its equivalent to teach in the homeschool.
The instructions should be provided for 900 hours or 180-days for elementary level and 180 days or 990 hours for secondary level. The student should be provided with subjects that are similar to the grade in public schools. The parents should maintain a portfolio consisting of the work samples and standardized test result. The student should sit for the national standardized test in grade 3. 5 and 8 and the portfolio should also be evaluated annually.
In Pennsylvania, you can also homeschool your child with a private tutor. The teacher must be Pennsylvania-certified and he or she must submit the copy of certification and criminal record history to the superintendent of the school district where the student resides.
Parents may also choose homeschool their children by enrolling them in a satellite of a religious day school. The principal of the school needs to file a notarized affidavit to the Department of Education and it should provide instruction of the number of days required by Pennsylvania law as stated above.
The last option is to enroll the child in a satellite of an accredited day or boarding school. You’ll be able to teach the child at home if he or she is enrolled in an extension or satellite of a boarding or day school.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Rhode Island
In Rhode Island, all children must attend school as soon as they turn 6 years old and continue attending the school until they become 18 or graduate from high school. Homeschooling is referred in Rhode Island law in R.I. Gen. Laws § 16-19-2.
To legally homeschool in Rhode Island, the parents must submit a notice of intent to homeschool to the local school committee. The notice must assure that the child will be provided with instruction for the same number of days as public schools and an attendance log will be maintained. In Rhode Island, public schools provide 180-days of instruction each school year so the homeschooling child should be provided with the same.
The curriculum followed needs to provide instruction on the following subjects: reading, writing, spelling, health and physical education, geography, arithmetic, the history of the U.S. and Rhode Island, and the principles of American Government. However, the school district has the authority to create own homeschool policy.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in South Carolina
It’s mandatory for every child in South Carolina to attend school as soon they turn 5 years old and continue till they turn 17 years old or graduate. To legally homeschool in South Carolina, the instructor must have a GED or high school diploma. South Carolina offers three options to homeschool your child.
If you want to homeschool under the homeschool statute then you must get an approval from the district board of trustee of the local public school district. The child should be taught for 180-days every fiscal school year for at least 4-5 hours a day.
According to the laws of South Carolina, the curriculum must include reading, writing, social studies, math, and science. For grades 7-12, instructions on composition and literature should also be provided.
The parent should maintain a record portfolio consisting of the works done by the student and results of any national standardized test taken. You must submit a semi-annual report on your child’s progress in each of these subjects to the school district. Also, make sure to assess the student annually to keep track of the overall proficiency.
In South Carolina, you can also homeschool with the Association of Independent homeschool. You can also opt for homeschooling with a homeschool association that possesses at least 50 member families and continues with the process following the laws stated above.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in South Dakota
Every child in South Dakota must go to school as they become 5 years old and continue till they turn 18 or graduate high school. To conduct legal homeschooling in South Carolina, every year you must a local school official on a DOE’s form. Bear in mind that in South Dakota, no individual is allowed to teach more than 22 homeschoolers.
The curriculum to be followed must contain language and arts. However, the parents should include other subjects that are taught in the public school for the grade the homeschooler is in. The teaching period should be equal to public schools. In South Dakota, all public schools conduct their terms for nine months each fiscal school year.
The student must sit for any standardized test for the school district or nationally standardized test in grade 4, 8, and 11. You’re not required to submit the copies of the result to the local school district, however, you should records of these tests for further use. Keep a proper record portfolio so that you can instantly provide them if asked.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Tennessee
Tennessee has compulsory school attendance law from the age of 6 years till they turn 18 years old. In Tennessee, there three options following which the parents can legally homeschool their child.
The homeschool can operate as an independent home school. For this, you need to submit a notice of intent to the superintendent of the local school district. The notice of intent should contain the name, age, date of birth of the child and a proof that the child has been immunized.
The instructor must have a high school diploma or GED. The instructions should go on for 180-days each school year for at least four hours a day. The parents should keep proper attendance record and it must be readily available if asked by the local superintendent. The student should sit for a standardized test in grade 5, 7, and 9.
The parents may also conduct the homeschooling through church-related school (CRS). These are operated by bona-fide or parochial church organizations and these are accredited by the by Tennessee Association of Christian Schools. In this method, the child must enroll in the CRS and the homeschooling process must be monitored by the director of the CRS.
In Tennesse, the parents can also homeschool under Category III distance learning schools. These schools are non-public accredited schools. Category III schools should follow the curriculum suggested by Tennessee law and maintain proper records of the child’s performance.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Texas
In Texas, children aged between 6 years to 19 years must attend a school or comply with homeschool law unless they have graduated high school or its equivalent. Texas is a very homeschool friendly state without any rigid rules and regulations.
Homeschools are considered as a private school in Texas. To legally homeschool your child in the state of Texas you follow a curriculum that includes reading, writing, spelling, grammar, math, and good citizenship. The state law doesn’t require you to teach any subjects other than these, however, some other subjects such as science, history, geography, etc. will enhance the student’s knowledge and some of them are also required for college admission.
The Texas private school law also requires you to use a written curriculum mentioning that you are operating the homeschool in a bona-fide manner.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Utah
Utah law states that children from age 6 years to 18 years must attend a school or be homeschooled. Utah offers two options for the parents to legally homeschool their children.
To conduct homeschooling under Utah’s homeschool statue, you must file a notarized and signed affidavit to the local school board. The affidavit should include a statement that the child will be homeschooled and the parents are solely responsible for the education of the child.
Most of the states have a specific requirement for the required days of instruction. However, Utah doesn’t have any such rule. The parents have the authority to decide the number of days the instruction will be provided and they also have power over the selection of the textbooks or materials to be followed.
In Utah, you can also conduct homeschooling as a private school. According to this law, you can establish a private school with other homeschoolers. The only requirement for applying under this criteria is to obtain a business license.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Vermont
According to the laws of Vermont, you must enroll your child in school as soon as he or she becomes 6 years old and continue until the child becomes 16. In Vermont law, homeschooling is specifically referred to homeschooling in 16 V.S.A. § 11(a)(21) and 16 V.S.A. § 166b.
Following this statue, the parent or legal guardian must send a written annual enrollment notice to the commissioner of education. The notice should include the name, age, and the date of birth of the child, names, signatures and mailing address of the parents or guardians, a shred of independent professional evidence whether the child has disabilities, assessment report for previous homeschooling years, name and address if anyone else other than the parents is instructing.
You must provide a detailed outline of the curriculum that will be followed to instruct the child. You need to also provide an outline of any special service provided if the child has a disability.
Once you file the notice, you’ll receive an acknowledgment of compliance which will state that the child should be enrolled in a homeschooling program immediately or within 45 days upon receiving the notice.
The homeschool program should contain the following subjects: English literature, reading, writing, basic use of numbers, physical education, history of U.S. and Vermont, and fine arts. The student should be assessed on these courses annually and the assessment result should be submitted to the commissioner while filing the paperwork for the next school year.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Virginia
In Virginia, it’s compulsory for children aging from 5 years to 18 years to attend school. There are four ways to legally homeschool your child in Virginia. The first option allows you to homeschool under the home instruction. You need to annually notify the school district superintendent that you intend to homeschool your child.
To homeschool under this criteria, the instructor must have a high school diploma or have current Virginia teacher’s license or evidence that the instructor will provide adequate education or provide the student with a curriculum as a part of the homeschooling program.
By August 1 every year, you must submit an evaluation report to the superintendent showing the child has achieved an adequate amount of educational progress.
The second option in Virginia allows you to homeschool with a religious exemption. Under this law, you to send a religious exemption letter to the school board. After filing the letter, get a reply to the religious exemption letter and proceed with the program.
The third option allows you to homeschool with a certified tutor. The instructions can be provided with any person holding a current Virginia teacher license. The instructor should ask the school superintendent for approval for the position.
The last option allows to homeschool under private school option. Under this law, the students are allowed to attend school without being physically present for the equal number of hours per day and an equal number of days as public schools.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Washington
Children aged between 8 years to 18 years must attend school under Washington law. In Washington, parents can legally homeschool their child under the homeschool statute.
The parents must annually file a notice of intent to homeschool to the local superintendent. The instruction must include the name and age of the child and specify the person who’ll be instructing the child.
The instructor who’ll be teaching the child must be qualified to operate a homeschool program. The student should be instructed for 180-days per year or an average of about 1000-hours per year. The homeschool curriculum must include science, language, math, reading, writing, spelling, history, health, art and music.
The child should be assessed annually by any standardized test to measure academic progress. However, the result doesn’t need to be submitted to the local officials.
In Washington, you can also homeschool with a private or denominational school. The approved private schools are allowed to operate the homeschools as an extension program of the school. The private school should also comply with the requirements for the extension program.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in West Virginia
All children aged between 6 years to 17 years must attend a school or comply with homeschool law in West Virginia. In West Virginia, parents can legally homeschool their child following two ways.
The first option allows to homeschool by seeking school board approval. Under this law, you must instruct the child for 180-days per fiscal school year and you’ll require to teach the subjects that are approved by the school board. In this case, the school board will determine the method of assessment you must conduct in your homeschool.
The second option allows the parents to homeschool by submitting a notice of intent. You must include the name, age, and address of the child to be homeschooled. The law requires the notice of intent to be submitted on or before the homeschooling begins.
To continue with this process, the parents must ensure that the person providing the instruction must have a high school diploma or its equivalent. The child needs to be instructed with reading, writing, science, math, and social studies.
Also, the child should be assessed annually under any standardized test. The assessment results for grade 3, 5, 8, and 11 must be submitted to the county superintendent by June 30 of those years.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Wisconsin
According to the laws of Wisconsin, all children aged between 6 years 18 years must attend school unless graduated high school. To conduct homeschooling in Wisconsin, you must file a statement of enrollment to the Department of Public Instruction.
The statement should mention that the main purpose of homeschooling is to provide private or religious-based education, the homeschool should be privately controlled and operate for 875-hours each school year and the curriculum that will be followed should include language, reading, math, science, social studies, and health.
There’s no certain requirement for recordkeeping. However, the children should be assessed annually and the records should be kept.
Homeschooling Laws, regulations and Requirements in Wyoming
In Wyoming, it’s compulsory for every child to attend a school or be homeschooled from the age of 7 till they become 16 years old. Wyoming has a very simple and easy to conduct homeschooling laws. There are two options available for the children to be legally homeschooled in Wyoming.
Parents may choose to homeschool under Wyoming homeschool statute. Under this law, you must annually submit the local public school district board of trustee a detailed curriculum which represents that the child is receiving “sequentially progressive” instructions.
Wyoming law requires the homeschooling students to be provided with instruction on the following subjects: reading, writing, math, civics, science, literature, and history.
Wyoming law also allows the parents to homeschool under a church, parochial or religious schools. To be eligible for this criterion, the homeschool must remain under the control of a local church or any religious organization.